JVC staff at Orientation August 2018 at Loyola University Chicago
JVC staff at Orientation August 2018 at Loyola University Chicago

OUR PEOPLE

JVC staff works tirelessly to support our mission of building a more just and hopeful world. Whether supporting our volunteers on the ground, fundraising to keep agency costs as low as possible, or recruiting the next generation of young leaders, our staff keeps JVC’s core values of spirituality, community, simple living, and social justice at the forefront of our work.  

† Former Jesuit Volunteer 
* Jesuit Educated

LEADERSHIP

Tom Chabolla JVC President staff headshot

Tom Chabolla *

President

As president, Tom is responsible for setting and implementing the goals and direction of the organization. He is a longtime fan of JVC, with plenty of friends and family having served as Jesuit Volunteers. He and his wife Carolyn are proud former support people for the Santa Monica house in the 1980's.

president@jesuitvolunteers.org
Sandy Goodman, JVC director of finance and administration staff headshot.

Sandy Goodman

Director of Finance

Sandy is responsible for managing the business activities of JVC and making sure that we effectively and efficiently serve all our constituencies – staff, agencies, volunteers and supporters.

sgoodman@jesuivolunteers.org
Gloria McDowell, JVC director of programs at 2018 Orientation in Chicago.

Gloria McDowell

Director of Programs

Gloria is responsible for providing strategic and operational oversight for the formation and service program.

gmcdowell@jesuitvolunteers.org
Mike Reddy (Los Angeles 2009-10) director of communications staff headshot.

Mike Reddy †*

Director of Communications

Mike is responsible for designing and implementing the organization’s engagement strategy with supporters, donors, volunteers, and over 10,000 alumni. Mike served as a JV in Los Angeles at Homeboy Industries during the 2009-10 program year.

mreddy@jesuitvolunteers.org

STAFF

Beth Pawuk (Detroit 90s) and staff member at Orientation.

Beth Pawuk †

Regional Manager (Central US)

Beth is responsible for working with program staff in the central region, managing the AmeriCorps program, and the Additional Year Volunteer program. She is an FJV, having served as a JV in the 1998-1999 program year. During her JVC year, Beth was placed in Houston, TX, at Communities in Schools.

bpawuk@jesuitvolunteers.org
Jill Kress (Detroit) FJV and staff member.

Jill Kress †

Formation Manager

Jill is responsible for the integration of Ignatian spirituality and Catholic Social Teaching throughout the JV experience. Jill Kress is a former Jesuit Volunteer, having served in Detroit at Crossroads of Michigan.

jkress@jesuitvolunteers.org
Will Poling international program manager and staff.

William Poling

International Program Manager

William oversees programming and support for volunteers across six countries (Belize, Peru, Chile, Tanzania, Federated States of Micronesia, and United States). He continually draws from his own volunteer experiences, with entities such as the Peace Corps and Maryknoll, in fostering relationships with a variety of international and U.S. stakeholders.

wpoling@jesuitvolunteers.org
Jo Pressimone development manager and staff

Jo Pressimone

Development Manager

Jo has been a part of the JVC team since December, 2015. As the Development Manager she oversees most of the fundraising efforts from the Baltimore headquarters, including annual appeals, grant preparation, and the Send Me to Serve fundraiser (her favorite).

jpressimone@jesuitvolunteers.org
Laura Strubeck, FJV and regional manager on JVC staff

Laura Strubeck †*

Regional Manager (Western US)

As Regional Manager, Laura provides leadership to the program staff on the west coast, responsible for the coordination and formation of the volunteers in California, Arizona, and New Mexico. She served two years as a JV during the 2008-2010 program years. In her first year, Laura served at Sarah House, a hospital hospitality house in Syracuse, NY followed by her additional year with San Diego Youth Services in San Diego, CA.

lstrubeck@jesuitvolunteers.org
Dominique Troy, manager of strategic communications and FJV.

Dominique Troy †*

Manager of Strategic Communications

Dominique carries out the external communications, events and recruitment strategy at JVC with attention to its many stakeholders. In 2014-15, she served as a JV at My Friend’s Place in Los Angeles, CA.

dtroy@jesuitvolunteers.org
Shivany Trujillo SLU alumni and JVC admissions manager

Shivany Trujillo *

Admissions Manager

Shivany leads the charge on helping prospective Jesuit Volunteers and partner agencies navigate the admissions process. Starting at the completion the application form and all the way through to an agency partner match with a Jesuit Volunteer.

strujillo@jesuitvolunteers.org
Amie Hall JVC associate admissions manager

Amie Hall

Associate Manager of Admissions

Amie works with potential Jesuit Volunteers and agency partners throughout the screening and placement process. After graduating, Amie completed an AmeriCorps State term of service with Charlottesville Abundant Life Ministries. She was also a part of the Trinity Fellows Program, a faith-based leadership development program in Charlottesville, VA.

ahall@jesuitvolunteers.org
Rob Roa associate manager of recruitment

Rob Roa *

Associate Manager of Recruitment

Rob is part of the team working to recruit new corps members to JVC. Through the Jesuit Volunteer Philippines Foundation, Rob worked from 2014-2015 with rural sustenance farmers in Tacloban, Leyte to develop their cooperative agribusiness model.

rroa@jesuitvolunteers.org
JVC Regional Coordinator Chris Bargeron

Chris Bargeron

Regional Coordinator

Chris provides formation accompaniment to volunteers in Raleigh, NC and for volunteers who attend retreats on the east coast. Before joining JVC, Chris began his post-graduate service years as a Dominican Volunteer in Chicago where he was an ESL and job skills instructor at Heartland Alliance.

cbargeron@jesuitvolunteers.org
Regional Coordinator Ben DeGarmo

Ben DeGarmo

Regional Coordinator

As part of the Program Team, Ben works on preparing and facilitating regional retreats, maintaining in city relations, and JV support for volunteers in Houston, TX. Ben lives in Detroit with his wife Monica who served as a Jesuit Volunteer.

bdegarmo@jesuitvolunteers.org
Program Operations Coordinator Pam Donohue

Pam Donohue

Program Operations Coordinator

As Program Operations Coordinator, Pam supports the program staff with logistics and operations. She also coordinates the logistics of all meetings of the Board of Directors. She has previously spent two years teaching English in two disparate regions of Spain.

pdonohue@jesuitvolunteers.org
Brooke Silvas, JVC staff and program coordinator headshot

Brooke Silvas

Program Coordinator (International)

Brooke helps oversee the JV communities serving in Peru and Arizona (Phoenix and Tucson) as well as fosters relationships between agency supervisors and JVC. She also helps plan the major retreats throughout the year for the volunteers. Brooke joined JVC following her volunteer year in Ecuador, during which she served as an English teacher at Catholic elementary school San Felipe Neri.

bsilvas@jesuitvolunteers.org
FJV Patrick Washington and JVC staff regional coordinator

Pat Washington †*

Regional Coordinator

Pat is a regional coordinator who provides logistical support to the volunteers in Sacramento, CA; helps plan the major retreats for JVs in the western part of the US throughout the year, and works with agency supervisors to ensure that all parties are doing well. Pat served as a JV in Bridgeport, CT in 2015-2016.

pwashington@jesuitvolunteers.org
HR Manager Keysha Handy

Keysha Handy

HR and Administration Manager

Keysha serves as HR and Administration Manager of JVC, and a member of the Finance and Administration team. Her responsibilities include HR documentation, employee benefits, accounts payable, IT coordination, and office management of JVC’s regional offices.

khandy@jesuitvolunteers.org

Deb Schechter

Finance Associate

Deb supports the Finance and Administration team by managing the domestic and international community bank accounts, completion of monthly expense reporting and with any additional housing concerns. Throughout the six years she has worked at JVC, she has witnessed the JV communities strive to live out the Ignatius four values, especially simple living, which has been an inspiration and a deepening within her own conviction.

dschechter@jesuitvolunteers.org
ICC Olivia Mccall (San Diego 2013-14) headshot

Olivia McCall †

Development Associate, Baltimore In-City Coordinator

omccall@jesuitvolunteers.org

Brittany Bachant †*

Boston In-City Coordinator | Country Coordinator Pohnpei

Bbachant@jesuitvolunteers.org

Anthony Baker †

Atlanta In-City Coordinator

abaker@jesuitvolunteers.org

Elizabeth Blanchette

Mobile In-City Coordinator

eblanchette@jesuitvolunteers.org
ICC Susannah Bourbeau Alao (Punta Gorda, Belize 2007-09)

Susannah Bourbeau-Alao †*

New York City In-City Coordinator

sbourbeaualao@jesuitvolunteers.org

Erin Brown †

Milwaukee In-City Coordinator

ebrown@jesuitvolunteers.org

Matt Carroll

San Francisco In-City Coordinator

mcarroll@jesuitvolunteers.org
ICC NOLA Julie Connelly (NOLA 2011-12) headshot

Julie Connelly †*

New Orleans In-City Coordinator

jconnelly@jesuitvolunteers.org
ICC Andrew Childers (Nashvile 2011-12) headshot

Andrew Childers †

New York City In-City Coordinator

achilders@jesuitvolunteers.org
ICC Diane Dragoo

Diane Dragoo

Albuquerque In-City Coordinator

ddragoo@jesuitvolunteers.org
ICC Steve Ellis (Harlem, 2007-08; Portland, ME, 2008-09)

Steve Ellis †*

Portland, ME In-City Coordinator

sellis@jesuitvolunteers.org
ICC Laura Elkins (Washington, D.C., 1989-91)

Laura Elkins †

Washington, DC In-City Coordinator

lelkins@jesuitvolunteers.org

Brent Fernandez

Nashville In-City Coordinator

bfernandez@jesuitvolunteers.org

Emily Ferron †

Chuuk Micronesia Country Coordinator

eferron@jesuitvolunteers.org
ICC Maria Gaughan (Raleigh 2004-05)

Maria Gaughan †

San Diego In-City Coordinator

mgaughan@jesuitvolunteers.org
ICC Monica Hanna (Phoenix 2012-13)

Monica Hanna †

Los Angeles West In-City Coordinator

mhanna@jesuitvolunteers.org

Lizzy Harris †

Santa Clara In-City Coordinator

lharris@jesuitvolunteers.org

Jacqueline Hubbel †

Berkeley In-City Coordinator

Jhubbel@jesuitvolunteers.org
ICC Paula Kampf headshot

Paula Kampf

Cleveland In-City Coordinator

pkampf@jesuitvolunteers.org

Rachel Mahlik †

Kansas City In-City Coordinator

rmahlik@jesuitvolunteers.org

Tom Nailor †

Philadelphia and Camden In-City Coordinator

tnailor@jesuitvolunteers.org

Nora Marino †*

Minneapolis In-City Coordinator

nmarino@jesuitvolunteers.org
ICC Erin Politz (Milwaukee 1995-96)

Erin Politz †

Los Angeles East In-City Coordinator

epolitz@jesuitvolunteers.org
ICC Stephanie Rivas (Baltimore 2010-11)

Stephanie Rivas †

San Antonio In-City Coordinator

ICC john Ross (Viaslia, CA 1991-92)

John Ross †*

Newark In-City Coordinator

ICC Beth Scanlon (Webster 1978-79; Philadelphia 1979-80) introduces herself to the incoming volunteers. (2018)

Beth Scanlon †

Syracuse In-City Coordinator

bscanlon@jesuitvolunteers.org

Sarah Schufreider †*

Chicago In-City Coordinator

sschufreider@jesuitvolunteers.org

Angela Serwin †

St. Louis In-City Coordinator

aserwin@jesuitvolunteers.org
Fr Fred Kammer SJ Vice Chair JVC board of directors

OUR BOARD

The Jesuit Volunteer Corps is governed by a board of directors deeply committed to the mission, values, sustainability, and impact of JVC.  Every member of the board has had their life positively affected by JVC, whether through their own service or the service of friends and family.  Board members bring a wealth of experience as leaders in the corporate, non-profit, and Jesuit worlds that shapes their support of JVC’s mission.

Joan Hogan Gillman *

CHAIR

Fr. Fred Kammer, SJ*

VICE CHAIR

Fr. Michael McFarland, SJ *

TREASURER AND FINANCE CHAIR

John Carron †*

SECRETARY

Fr. Vin DeCola, SJ *

DEVELOPMENT CHAIR

Abe Grindle †*

PROGRAM CHAIR

Mary Berner*

AUDIT CHAIR

AnnMaura Connolly †*

NOMINATIONS CHAIR

Jack McLean *

GOVERNANCE CHAIR

Fr. John Staudenmaier, SJ *

Member

Fr. Marcos Gonzales, SJ †*

Member