JVC staff at Orientation August 2018 at Loyola University Chicago
JVC staff at Orientation August 2018 at Loyola University Chicago

OUR PEOPLE

JVC staff works tirelessly to support our mission of building a more just and hopeful world. Whether supporting our volunteers on the ground, fundraising to keep agency costs as low as possible, or recruiting the next generation of young leaders, our staff keeps JVC’s core values of spirituality, community, simple living, and social justice at the forefront of our work.  

† Former Jesuit Volunteer 
* Jesuit Educated

LEADERSHIP

Tom Chabolla JVC President staff headshot

Tom Chabolla *

President

As president, Tom is responsible for setting and implementing the goals and direction of the organization. He is a longtime fan of JVC, with plenty of friends and family having served as Jesuit Volunteers. He and his wife Carolyn are proud former support people for the Santa Monica house in the 1980's.

president@jesuitvolunteers.org
Director of Finance jenny jones Headshot

Jenny Jones

Director of Finance and Administration

Jenny is responsible for managing the business activities of JVC and making sure that we effectively and efficiently serve all our constituencies – staff, agencies, volunteers and supporters.

jjones@jesuitvolunteers.org
Karen Griffin, director of development (2019)

Karen Griffin

Director of Development

Karen is responsible for all fundraising efforts at JVC including donor cultivation, annual appeals, grant preparation, and the Send Me to Serve fundraiser. As a former employee of an organization who had Jesuit Volunteers, Karen knows the value and impact of the JVC experience.

kgriffin@jesuitvolunteers.org
ICC Maria Gaughan (Raleigh 2004-05)

Maria Gaughan †

Director of FJV Engagement, Partnerships and Outreach

Maria is responsible for executing our organizational outreach and partnerships, recruitment strategy and FJV engagement efforts. As a Jesuit Volunteer, Maria served in Raleigh, NC from 2004-05 and she now resides in San Diego, CA with her family.

mgaughan@jesuitvolunteers.org
Laura Strubeck, FJV and regional manager on JVC staff

Laura Strubeck †*

Director of Programs

Laura is responsible for providing strategic and operational oversight for the formation and service program. She served two years as a JV during the 2008-2010 program years. In her first year, Laura served at Sarah House, a hospital hospitality house in Syracuse, NY followed by her additional year with San Diego Youth Services in San Diego, CA.

lstrubeck@jesuitvolunteers.org

STAFF

Rob Roa associate manager of recruitment

Rob Roa *

Associate Manager of Recruitment

Rob is part of the team working to recruit new corps members to JVC. Through the Jesuit Volunteer Philippines Foundation, Rob worked from 2014-2015 with rural sustenance farmers in Tacloban, Leyte to develop their cooperative agribusiness model.

rroa@jesuitvolunteers.org
AJ Golio (NOLA 2016-17), JVC Recruiter

AJ Golio †*

Recruiter

AJ recruits prospective Jesuit Volunteers from schools and events on the east coast and parts of the south. AJ served as a Jesuit Volunteer at the Harry Thompson Center in New Orleans from 2016-17.

agolio@jesuitvolunteers.org
Anna Herrmann (Detroit 2018-19)

Anna Herrmann †

Recruiter

Anna recruits prospective Jesuit Volunteers from schools and events in the central United States of America. Anna served as a JV in Detroit, MI from 2018-19.

aherrmann@jesuitvolunteers.org
Shivany Trujillo SLU alumni and JVC admissions manager

Shivany Trujillo *

Admissions Manager

Shivany leads the charge on helping prospective Jesuit Volunteers and partner agencies navigate the admissions process. Starting at the completion the application form and all the way through to an agency partner match with a Jesuit Volunteer.

strujillo@jesuitvolunteers.org
Amie Hall JVC associate admissions manager

Amie Hall

Associate Manager of Admissions

Amie works with potential Jesuit Volunteers and agency partners throughout the screening and placement process. After graduating, Amie completed an AmeriCorps State term of service with Charlottesville Abundant Life Ministries. She was also a part of the Trinity Fellows Program, a faith-based leadership development program in Charlottesville, VA.

ahall@jesuitvolunteers.org
Dominique Troy, manager of strategic communications and FJV.

Dominique Troy †*

Manager of Strategic Communications

Dominique carries out the external communications and marketing strategy at JVC with attention to its many stakeholders. In 2014-15, she served as a JV at My Friend’s Place in Los Angeles, CA.

dtroy@jesuitvolunteers.org
Bryn Weber Headshot

Bryn Weber

Development Associate

Bryn assists in managing fundraising campaigns and incoming gifts with the Development Team. After graduating with her degree in nonprofit management, Bryn began working with the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society in many of their fundraising campaigns. Since October, she has gone back to school part time to complete her Masters in Grant Writing. Bryn is passionate about being a part of an organization that is making a difference in the lives of those we serve.

bweber@jesuitvolunteers.org
Will Poling international program manager and staff.

William Poling

International Program Manager

William oversees programming and support for volunteers across six countries (Belize, Peru, Chile, Tanzania, Federated States of Micronesia, and United States). He continually draws from his own volunteer experiences, with entities such as the Peace Corps and Maryknoll, in fostering relationships with a variety of international and U.S. stakeholders.

wpoling@jesuitvolunteers.org
Brooke Silvas, JVC staff and program coordinator headshot

Brooke Silvas

Program Coordinator (International)

Brooke helps oversee retreat programming for volunteers and accompanies the JV communities serving in Peru. Brooke joined JVC following her volunteer year in Ecuador, during which she served as an English teacher at Catholic elementary school San Felipe Neri.

bsilvas@jesuitvolunteers.org
Program Operations Coordinator Pam Donohue

Pam Donohue

Program Operations Coordinator

As Program Operations Coordinator, Pam supports the program staff with logistics and operations. She also coordinates the logistics of all meetings of the Board of Directors. She has previously spent two years teaching English in two disparate regions of Spain.

pdonohue@jesuitvolunteers.org
JVC Regional Coordinator Chris Bargeron

Chris Bargeron

Regional Coordinator

Chris provides formation accompaniment to volunteers in Baltimore, Boston, Camden, NYC and Philadelphia and for volunteers who attend retreats on the east coast. Before joining JVC, Chris began his post-graduate service years as a Dominican Volunteer in Chicago where he was an ESL and job skills instructor at Heartland Alliance.

cbargeron@jesuitvolunteers.org
Regional Coordinator Ben DeGarmo

Ben DeGarmo

Regional Coordinator

As part of the Program Team, Ben works on preparing and facilitating regional retreats, maintaining in city relations, and JV support for volunteers in Cleveland, Detroit and Milwaukee. Ben lives in Detroit with his wife Monica who served as a Jesuit Volunteer.

bdegarmo@jesuitvolunteers.org
Jill Kress (Detroit) FJV and staff member.

Jill Kress †

Regional Coordinator

Jill is responsible for the integration of Ignatian spirituality and Catholic Social Teaching throughout the JV experience. She works directly with the JV communities in Atlanta, Houston and San Antonio. Jill is a former Jesuit Volunteer, having served in Detroit at Crossroads of Michigan.

jkress@jesuitvolunteers.org
FJV Patrick Washington and JVC staff regional coordinator

Pat Washington †*

Regional Coordinator

Pat is a regional coordinator who provides logistical support to the volunteers in Berkeley, Los Angeles, Phoenix, Tucson and Santa Clara; helps plan the major retreats for JVs in the western part of the US throughout the year, and works with agency supervisors to ensure that all parties are doing well. Pat served as a JV in Bridgeport, CT in 2015-2016.

pwashington@jesuitvolunteers.org

Deb Schechter

Finance Associate

Deb supports the Finance and Administration team by managing the domestic and international community bank accounts, completion of monthly expense reporting and with any additional housing concerns. Throughout the six years she has worked at JVC, she has witnessed the JV communities strive to live out the Ignatius four values, especially simple living, which has been an inspiration and a deepening within her own conviction.

dschechter@jesuitvolunteers.org
ICC Diane Dragoo

Diane Dragoo

Albuquerque In-City Coordinator

ddragoo@jesuitvolunteers.org

Lauren Kalbfell *

Austin In-City Coordinator

lKalbfell@jesuitvolunteers.org

Kristen Schenk †*

Belize City Country Coordinator

kschenk@jesuitvolunteers.org

Emily Ferron †

Chuuk Micronesia Country Coordinator

eferron@jesuitvolunteers.org

Sarah Schufreider †*

Chicago In-City Coordinator

sschufreider@jesuitvolunteers.org

Rachel Mahlik †

Kansas City In-City Coordinator

rmahlik@jesuitvolunteers.org
ICC Erin Politz (Milwaukee 1995-96)

Erin Politz †

Los Angeles East In-City Coordinator

epolitz@jesuitvolunteers.org

Brent Fernandez

Nashville In-City Coordinator

bfernandez@jesuitvolunteers.org
ICC john Ross (Viaslia, CA 1991-92)

John Ross †*

Newark In-City Coordinator

jross@jesuitvolunteers.org
windi mitchell headshot

Windi Mitchell †

Sacramento In-City Coordinator

wmitchell@jesuitvolunteers.org

Erica Palmer †*

San Diego In-City Coordinator

epalmer@jesuitvolunteers.org

Matt Carroll †

San Francisco In-City Coordinator

mcarroll@jesuitvolunteers.org
Cathy Seymour (Belize) In-City Coordinator at JVC

Cathy Seymour †*

Scranton In-City Coordinator

cseymour@jesuitvolunteers.org

Megan Sheehan †

Santiago, Chile Country Coordinator

msheehan@jesuitvolunteers.org
ICC Beth Scanlon (Webster 1978-79; Philadelphia 1979-80) introduces herself to the incoming volunteers. (2018)

Beth Scanlon †

Syracuse In-City Coordinator

bscanlon@jesuitvolunteers.org

Nora Marino †*

Minneapolis In-City Coordinator

nmarino@jesuitvolunteers.org
ICC Laura Elkins (Washington, D.C., 1989-91)

Laura Elkins †

Washington, DC In-City Coordinator

lelkins@jesuitvolunteers.org

Annie Rooney †

New Orleans In-City Coordinator

arooney@jesuitvolunteers.org
Fr Fred Kammer SJ Vice Chair JVC board of directors

OUR BOARD

The Jesuit Volunteer Corps is governed by a board of directors deeply committed to the mission, values, sustainability, and impact of JVC.  Every member of the board has had their life positively affected by JVC, whether through their own service or the service of friends and family.  Board members bring a wealth of experience as leaders in the corporate, non-profit, and Jesuit worlds that shapes their support of JVC’s mission.

Joan Hogan Gillman *

CHAIR

Fr. Fred Kammer, SJ*

VICE CHAIR

Fr. Michael McFarland, SJ *

TREASURER AND FINANCE CHAIR

John Carron †*

SECRETARY

Fr. Vin DeCola, SJ *

DEVELOPMENT CHAIR

Abe Grindle †*

PROGRAM CHAIR

Mary Berner *

AUDIT CHAIR

AnnMaura Connolly †*

NOMINATIONS CHAIR

Jack McLean *

GOVERNANCE CHAIR

Marcos Gonzales †*

Member

Ann Greiner †

Member

Nancy Johansen †*

Member

Colleen Magnus †*

Member

Marty Rodgers

Member

Fr. John Staudenmaier, SJ *

Member